Day 23- Drummer Boy

I love Christmas. I love to look around and see my town, my church building, my home all dressed up and glittering as they announce the wonder and glory of Jesus. I know, I know. All of my Reformed, Bible College peers and theologically sound homies will argue for a moment in their heads that Jesus wasn’t born in December. Be that as it may, that’s not the point. I love Christmas. It has the feeling of everyone being dressed up for a fancy gathering. I used to love that as a kid. Getting dressed up in shiny clothes to go to a boring adult party, where I would end up finding some kid to run around and play with. It was like that great feeling of being super clean and fresh out of a shower, then the joy and fun of getting dirty! It’s whimsical and full of joy. To me, anyway.

I love the sight of plastic snowflakes and sprayed white windows. I live in California, I have never seen snow. It’s one of my life dreams to have a white Christmas. But, since I cannot make said dream come true right now, I, like all my fellow Californians who never see snow, have to settle for plastic snowflakes and spray snow.

One of the other things I love about Christmas is the warmth of fireplaces. We get very few cold days here. Californians are weird in that they get crazy once the temperature drops below 70. The last few weeks we’ve have temps in the 60’s and even some 50’s. That’s when it gets super interesting! If it drops to the 50’s, people bring out the parkas. I’m not kidding. It’s ridiculous. We have NO comprehension of what cold really is. (Shout out to my homies in Chicago and Minnesota!) If you want to see some seriously crazy stuff drive in LA when it rains! ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE! So since we have no understanding of what cold really is, we get these few weeks of chilly temps and all of a sudden everything smells like yule logs. It’s wonderful. I really do love you California. ❤

And finally the other thing I like at Christmas time is songs about Jesus being played all over the place. It makes me so happy to be pumping gas while “Away in a Manger” plays. Of course the other music about Santa and Rudolf and all those other fictional characters gets annoying. But it’s a great trade-off I think. Put up with silly songs so the whole country hears the gospel of Jesus as they sing “Joy to the World.” Absolutely worth it.

Well, tonight I was driving home and all of a sudden the song “Little Drummer Boy” starts to play on the radio. I used to hate this song! But thanks to Eric Owyoung and Future of Forestry’s rendition of it, I actually now love this song. So I gave it a shot and listened to it instead of changing the channel. I sang along and by the time I got to the line, ‘I am a poor boy too, I have no gift to bring that’s fit for our King” I lost it!!! I mean, I started weeping like a baby! Here are the lyrics. I own none of these lyrics and found them on this website: http://www.41051.com/xmaslyrics/drummer.html

This song was composed by Katherine K. Davis, Henry Onorati and Harry Simeone in 1958.

Come they told me
Pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see
Pa rum pum pum pum

Our finest gifts we bring
Pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the kIng
Pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum

So to honor Him
Pa rum pum pum pum
When we come

Little baby
Pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too
Pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring
Pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give our King
Pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum

Shall I play for you
Pa rum pum pum pum
On my drum

Mary nodded
Pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time
Pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him
Pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him
Pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum

Then He smiled at me
Pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum

I was crying hard, fogging up my glasses and seriously having a hard time seeing straight! I thought it was bad, until these lyrics destroyed me!!! “I played my drum for him, I played MY BEST for him.” I had to pull over to cry! I’m not kidding! I sat there and wept. Those lyrics are powerful! Think about it! As a believer, when we’re at our worst, when we’re at the end of ourselves, on our death beds, what can we say?? NOTHING except that!!! I PLAYED MY BEST FOR HIM!! We too are poor boys, with nothing to offer this mighty, majestic, and powerful KING who chose to leave glory to come to earth and save a bunch of rebellious people!! People that chose to crucify him, kill him, and are still trying to kill him! People who falter, mess up, ruin EVERYTHING beautiful he has made!! People who have taken his creation and destroyed it! People who are responsible for all of the death and destruction and mayhem we find ourselves in! And YET… AND YET…. AND YET… HE LOVES US.

And yet, He smiles at us, even in our poverty, when we come before him, with a simple little drum to play a simple little song.  I want that smile. I want to make my King smile. With my writing, my voice, my arms, my heart. I want that smile.

Lord, I played my best for you. It’s so ugly, and imperfect. I have no gift to bring, that’s fit for you my King. But, it’s my very best.

Oh you gotta know I’m sitting here crying as I type! This song is powerful!!!!

I had to share. This is where I’m at tonight. Weeping in my poverty. Feeling loved in all my brokenness. Playing my song for my King.

In all the times I’ve watched my favorite band “Future of Forestry” in their Advent tour, I always record this song! I cannot find my recordings, however, so I grabbed this one from YouTube. I too was at this actual show at Cornerstone Simi. I sat in that front row from the exact same angle!!! So, thank you YouTuber, Danny Lara (who I do not know) for posting this! Enjoy everyone!!

Leave a Reply

