Day 38- Eternal

If I wasn’t already in love with the King of Kings, I would have fallen for Him today. As the kids and I drove to get some of their Xmas shopping done, He painted the sky in extraordinary colors for us. We marveled at how beautiful it looked. As little budding artists they observed the colors and textures and I kept bringing it back to, “yes but who painted it?” 
They answered “God,” but I knew they weren’t quite understanding that truth. I explained that the heavens declare His glory (Psalm 19). But I don’t think they got it. Truth be told, there are many adults who still don’t get that. 

Later, at dinner we played the “would you rather” game. I sat there eating my salad, as they all ate pizza in front of me (I didn’t give in! I resisted! Praise Jesus!!). My niece looks at me and says… “would you rather have eternal life, or would you rather give other people eternal life?” It was such a teaching moment. I told her that that choice was not valid, because Jesus gives that for real. They both looked at me like deer in headlights. 

So I explained the truth of the gospel as best as I could for a 10 & 8 yr old. I told them that their Nana and I (who were sitting at the table with them) already had eternal life because we gave our lives to Jesus. I explained that when a person receives the gift of salvation that Jesus offers, they get to live forever with Him. Through continued conversation, my nephew looks at me and says, “but I’m just a kid.” And I laughed as I looked at his very serious face. He looks at me and asks what’s funny and I explained to Him how I too met Jesus when I was, “just a kid.”

In the end, it was such a wonderful time of truth and a reminder of how short time is. I remember being a kid and hearing how much Jesus loved me and how He wanted to give me eternal life. I too didn’t understand it then, and sometimes I don’t understand it now. How could a Holy, and set apart God bring Himself so low, for a people who are so broken and unfaithful? It’s unreal. 

The world or the things of the world have never loved me in such an eternal way. It’s never loved me when I was weak, sad, broken or scared. It’s never offered me something completely unmerited. Because that adage rings true, “you can’t get something for nothing.” We say in Christanese terms that “Jesus will give you eternal life. It’s a free gift from God, you just have to accept it.” And the truth is that it wasn’t free to Him, and although the gift of salvation is free to receive, it’s not free to live out. The call of God cost Jesus everything. And the call of discipleship, should cost us everything too! Yes, it’s true. You can live forever. Eternal life is a real thing. Jesus Christ alone can give it. But I promise you, if you live it out Biblically (and that means NOT like most, if not, all mega churches or “Christian” Broadcasting Networks tell you to), then it will cost you EVERYTHING! And I assure you, with all my heart, that it will be worth that cost!! 

All of these musings because of a beautifully painted sky! I’m so thankful for the opportunity to share your word with my kids, Lord. I’m so blessed to share your message with anyone who will listen. 

So the question is easy. Would you rather have eternal life, or would you rather have the world? 

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims His handiwork.” -Psalm 19:1

Leave a Reply

