Day 42- Groaning 

Had an amazing worship time with the people I love most on this earth. We had a special Christmas Eve service today. It was wonderful. One of the greatest things that was spoken about tonight was this idea of “groaning.” 
Scripturally speaking, this is the idea that was discussed. 
For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. – Romans 8:22

And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. – Romans 8:23

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. – Romans 8:26

We spent some time discussing the hardships of 2016. War, terrorism, violence and death. The land (world, country, state, city) is groaning. 

We discussed the church. Personal illness, chronic pain and suffering, death, loss, and brokenness. God’s people, groaning. 

Then the final question was… “what areas of your life are you groaning in?” We were encouraged to journal our answers on paper. I thought I had nothing to write. I was way wrong. 

I’m groaning. Majorly groaning. I’m groaning about weight issues and my health. I’m groaning about death. I’m groaning about singleness (there, I said it). I’m groaning about the world. I’m groaning because I am apart from the person I love most (Jesus), and to be near Him, would mean I would be apart from the earthly people I love most. I’m groaning about fear. I’m groaning about finances. I’m groaning because I am on this earth and it’s beautiful and captivating but it’s also dark and disturbing, and all I want is you, Jesus. I am groaning!!

I know that being with Jesus trumps all good and beautiful things here on earth. And I want that. But, there’s the humanity in me that longs to see me have physical victory in my battle with this Goliath!! The humanity in me longs to see my niece and nephew give their lives to Jesus, and get married someday. The humanity in me that longs to see all of my children (we’ll talk about them later) walking with the Lord. The humanity in me wants to see some closure in places, relationships, ministries I’ve been, walked in, and served in. 
Lord, I am groaning!!!!! Thank you for coming to your people as a servant, a humble baby. Thank you for what you have done to save and free us!! Lord, I am groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. Groaning. 

Leave a Reply

