Day 44- Tamales 

Out of the blue, I decided I wanted to take a stab at making tamales. I’ve never done it before. But, it just seemed like something I had to try! So I went out and bought all the stuff and I actually made tamales!

Traditionally, Mexican women gather round the kitchen and make tamales for Christmas or New Year’s Eve. It’s a community effort. Since I’m just me, and everyone else has family to be with, I made them alone. My mumsie helped a bit. I thought that that would make me sad, but it didn’t. I enjoyed the time alone, actually. I’m pretty proud of myself for attempting it and succeeding. 

Now, I can’t eat them. Haha but I enjoyed making them. This holiday season has been so hard because of all of this holiday temptation! Sugar, gingerbread, Pozole, Tamales, menudo, pies, carbs, carbs, carbs!!! 

And I keep kicking myself because I have an unhealthy idea and I do it… (i.e. make pie, buy popcorn) but I have a healthy idea (i.e. Zucchini lasagna, coconut flour recipes) and I put it off. I clearly have some complex feelings about food. 
I have a list of recipes (thank you Pinterest) that I want to try and I think it’s time to make the healthy ones ONLY! Lord Jesus, help! 


I tried one, and only one. Chicken in green salsa tamales (with a spicy green habanero salsa added for yumminess). They weren’t bad. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

